Day to Remember.

11 09 2011

This is supposed to be a cheerful hockey blog, I know. But I also know that S & I weren’t the only people in the world affected 10 years ago. So for that, we’d like to take a break from the hockey talk & pay our respects to all the brave men & women who: ran towards the rubble when everyone else was running away & who died on this this.

We will never forget.

I remember exactly where I was, what I was doing & how I found out. I remember holding S’ hand at lunch as the principal tried to explain to us what had happened. I remember my mom coming to check on me at the school & I remember collasping into her arms when I rounded the corner. I remember my dad being a few minutes away from NYC praying that he got out of the city in time.

I also remember being too afraid to leave my house & staying home from school for 3 days fearing that something would happen to my family if I left them. Can you imagine? I lived in Boston. I wasn’t even living in the attacked city, but I was too afraid to leave my family’s side. I remember having to stay quiet everytime my 5 year old sister was around because my mom thought she was too young to know what was going on.

It's all burned into my memory

10 years later, I am still affected by just the thought of today. I know S feels the same way. It pains me that some people don’t even know what happened. For some people, 9/11 is what Pearl Harbor is to me. I know what it is & what happened…but I don’t fully understand the impact. If you care to share your stories, we’d be more than happy to read them.

Stay close to the people you care about today. Shake the hands of anyone in service. Today is a day that we will NEVER forget.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

