Best of the West

12 01 2012

Before we get into what will be an EPIC matchup in the Western Conference, I’ll do a mini “L” freakout on the ASG selections.

SAY WHAT?!

There are two things that immediately come to my mind when I hear the ASG roster.

1) I can’t wait to see all the Hawks from our championship team reunite.  This year it’s Captain Sexpanther, Lil’ PK, Big Hoss, Soupy, and BUFF.  I wish Duncs and Sharpie were in there (I have NO idea why Duncs isn’t in there, but Sharpie’s injured), but hey, I’ll take what I can get.

2) I try to keep a calm head about who they do/don’t pick for the rosters, but DAMN, NHL, you make it really hard sometimes!  Where is Selanne?  Neal?  HELLLOOOOOO?!  Smh.

Even Trekkies are upset

It’s safe to say that Sobfest 2012 started a bit too early for me.  But I digress.

Now, onto the GOOD stuff :)

I love the Western Conference.  Every night, unless Columbus is playing (sorry dudes), there is some sort of a fantastic matchup.  The Western Conference, in my opinion, is the tougher of the two conferences.  Yes, the East has it’s stars, but the teams in the West faceoff in epic battles every night and truly fight for points.

Tonight, especially in the Central Division, we have some epic matchups.  Canucks vs. Blues.  Blackhawks vs. Wild.  Red Wings vs. Coyotes.  Predators vs. Avalanche.  Yes, I know what you’re thinking, “M, you crazy bag lady, how in the world are those good matchups?”  Well, my little hockey fiends, try this on for size:

Hang in there, Columbus :(

As you can see, the Blackhawks and the Blues are tied for first, with Detroit only 2 points behind and a game in hand, and Nashville is not too far off.  So, provided the Red Wings lose, Nashville could close the gap, and we could have ourselves an even better battle here.  No other division in the League has a battle for the top division spot going on right now, or at least one as close as this.  And, for that matter, no other division has 4 out of their 5 teams occupying 4 of the top 8 spots.  This is where I do a celebratory cabbage patch dance.

Tiger Tiger Tiger WOODS, y'all!

Okay I’m back.

If I had to pick one game to watch though, it would be Blues vs. Canucks.  The Blues are on a hot streak (4 wins in a row) and Brian Elliott is a brick wall, but never count out the Wonder Twins.  The Canucks have a great goal differential (but measly in comparison to the Bruins), definitely due to the solid play of the Wonder Twins and Kesler.  The Blues have been solid at home, as most teams are, but the Canucks are 15-9-1 on the road, compared to 12-5-2 at home.  I think it’ll really come down to goaltending.  Schneider is always solid, but if the Blues happen to get Luongo in net, it’s truly anybody’s game.  Luongo can be great, but if you crash the net once, he collapses like a drunk guy at a frat party.  If the Blues take this one, they’ll truly solidify their place among the top Western Conference teams, and everybody better watch out because the Blues are BACK.

-M

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

