Believe

19 01 2012

Every once in a while, you come across something that gives you a bit of perspective.  Earlier today, I saw a tweet from Blake Geoffrion of the Nashville Predators.  A website was listed in it, along with a few words about the person who wrote it.

His cousin suffered a spinal cord injury in 2005, and blogs daily about her life since the accident and her progress.  As a former athlete (swimming, figure skating, volleyball), you never know when you might get hurt or hurt someone else.  It’s one of the risks we take to play the games we love.  It’s the same risk that hockey players take to play the game that they love.

Hockey is, by nature, a fast-paced sport.  But as viewers of the game, you always hope to God that the single hit given in a game isn’t the one that takes a player out in a more permanent fashion than a concussion.  Physical paralysis is something that, to me, is very scary, and I completely admire people who can keep a positive attitude despite what life deals them.

Now I’m sure you’re wondering, “Why is this kind of a post on a hockey blog?”  Obviously, it is related to a hockey player in Geoffrion.  But, more than that, it makes me love and respect hockey players infinitely more.  At the end of the day, they’re human and truly some of the nicest and most normal athletes in the world.

So, if you would, click here to give her blog a read.  At the very least, you’ll realize the cold shower water you complained about earlier today might not seem so bad.

-M

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 01 2012
LuckyNumber87

Thank you so much for posting this. I was recently diagnosed with a sports-related concussion and am having a hard time bouncing back from it. This post helped me realize how lucky I am that my condition isn’t worse and that, if she can do it, so can I. <3

20 01 2012
M

I’m glad I could help! Feel better and take it one day at a time, I’m sure you’ll get well soon :)
-M

Leave a Reply

