In case you missed it.

24 01 2012

I can’t image anyone with a Twitter Feed could have missed it at this point.

His statement:

“I believe the Federal government has grown out of control, threatening the Rights, Liberties, and Property of the People.

This is being done at the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial level. This is in direct opposition to the Constitution and the Founding Fathers vision for the Federal government.

Because I believe this, today I exercised my right as a Free Citizen, and did not visit the White House. This was not about politics or party, as in my opinion both parties are responsible for the situation we are in as a country. This was about a choice I had to make as an INDIVIDUAL.

This is the only public statement I will be making on this topic. TT”

 

I couldn’t really sit here as the Bruins fan in the mix and not address this. It is big news drawing quite a bit of attention. 

I am not going to make any political statements. Yesterday was not about politics. Yesterday was a celebration for the Stanley Cup victory. When brought down to the basics,  hockey fans come from all walks of life: rich, poor, Republican and Democrat. The Bruins were at the White House for one reason- to accept a congratulations from our president.

What do you guys think?

– D

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 01 2012
AYF

This seems like one of those situations that you learned in kindergarten. If someone is nice to you, you should be nice back, whether you like them or not.

It’s so simple. The President of your country, TT, invites you and your team to the White House to congratulate you on your victorious season, you MUST go. Show respect.

TT’s actions reflect a complete lack of respect and to me, it’s worse that an act of poor sportsmanship. For that, he has lost all respect from me.

Boo TT. You failed your team, your fans, and your countrymen.

28 01 2012
LuckyNumber87

I have mixed emotions on this issue. And I have put a lot of thought into how I feel about this as both a fan of hockey and US Citizen fed up with the Government’s actions.

To put this in perspective for myself – if this were a few years ago, when the Penguins had claimed the Stanley Cup, and one of my team’s players were to skip out on the White House visit, I would be shocked. Maybe angry and disappointed, even.

But as an outsider looking in on this situation, so to speak, I have to say I admire TT’s decision to skip out on the visit. It feels like today – where gay rights has become a bigger issue than our nation’s poverty and financial issues – the average American’s voice is not heard. As a figure of higher status, Thomas drew attention to this issue by making his decision. I feel like, in a way, he has stood up for those of us who have been ignored. And I appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

