The Race to the Finish: East

1 03 2012

This is one of those times when “slow & steady” has no chance of winning the race.

Can you believe there is only a month & ONE week left in the regular season?! I find myself starting to panic thinking about the off-season. Anyway, this is when the season gets serious. The coaches lose sleep. The games get scrappy. And our boys power through their injuries. All for one reason. For a chance to compete for Lord Stanley’s attention for the next year. Let’s take a look at a few teams…

New York Rangers

With 86 points — they are absolutely blowing every team in the Eastern Conference away. And I don’t want to say word-for-word what I’m thinking in fear of jinxing myself, so I’ll say it a different way. I think something shiny is going to be visiting this team this summer. And I’m not talking about the Lombardi Trophy that has already been showcased.

So there ya have it. I made a prediction without ACTUALLY saying the words. I plan on using my special connections with the NYR to celebrate.

Boston Bruins

Here in Crazyville, MA — everyone is convinced that this team is capable of a repeat. I’m not necessarily saying they are wrong…but there are just BETTER teams this season. ::cough::RANGERS::cough:: But, I’m not here to burst anyone’s bubble. The great thing about hockey is the pace in which things change. Who knows?! This team could, once again, surprise the nation.

Florida Panthers

I really don’t have much to say about this team except: WHERE THE HELL DID YOU COME FROM?! Done.

And our beloved: Pittsburgh Penguins

It breaks my heart to admit this, but without Sid on that ice…I just don’t see anything shiny coming to the ‘Burgh this summer.The boys need the confidence & offensive power that he brings to the ice. Now, before all you Pens fans find your panties in a bunch, let me say that I’m not doubting the skills & abilities of Geno, Staalsy, Nealer, or ANY of the boys. Anything is possible with this team. Exhibit A: Last season. How many call-ups from Wilkes-Barre were there because of injuries!? And they still silenced the critics by powering into the playoffs.

I remember this moment like it was yesterday.

Dear Pens, this is me. Challenging you. Please, prove me wrong. I’d love to visit the ‘Burgh next fall for the Season Opener to see a special banner being raised. ;)

Now let’s jump down the standings a bit.

Washington Capitals

Poor Caps. Everyone’s gunning for their spot! The Jets are one thier heels. Toronto isn’t too far off. Hell, even Tampa has a shot! I hate the Caps just as much as any other Pens fan out there…but I can’t picture the playoffs without them. Hang in there, boys!

And just ONE more comment.

Montreal Canadians

You do realize that the hockey season starts in October, right?! Where are you!? As much as I dislike you (being from Boston and all) I still want to see a Bruins v Habs steel cage death match for the Cup! Seriously boys. Time to get your heads in the game. Especially since I’m coming to Montreal for a visit in 3 weeks. I want you to win when I’m there. It’d be no fun for the home team to lose! What kind of “WELCOME TO MONTREAL” would that be?! Mathematically, I don’t think it’s even possible to fix the hole you’ve dug throughout the season. But then again…I went to art school & took a “Math: for Art Students” class. (no offense to any readers in Art School)

*giggles*

*L

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

