This Means War

18 04 2012

This is it, folks. Do or die.

Game 4 of the Penguins vs Flyers series. I can’t believe that after tonight it’s possible that our boys (the one’s who WERE favorites to win the Cup) won’t be playing again until October. GASP — that’s like 160ish days away!! I, for one, am not ready for the season to be over. In fact, the stress of the playoffs is good for my diet. So I would love to keep this going.

For those of you who live under a rock and/or haven’t been following this intense series because you are occupied with another team or have a social life (unlike me), why don’t we show you a little of what happened in Game 3.

That game is getting a lot of heat. This is just my opinion, but I feel what Captain & Tanger did were fine. *shrugs* Fights happen. No biggie. It kind of lifted the team up. Showed that SOMEONE on that ice cared. It’s the stuff that Asham (cross check to Schenn and sucker punch to the face), Neal (completely blindsided Couturier), and Adams (instigated Hartnell in a fight) did that I have a problem with.

Playoff hockey has always been an entirely different animal. Faster. Scrappy. There’s a fine line between what’s right and what’s wrong. And sometimes “in the heat of the moment” the players don’t use their brain ::cough::NEAL!ASHAM!ADAMS!::cough::. This sport is getting more dangerous by the day. Just look at what happened to Hossa last night in the Blackhawks game. Torres completely LEVELED him. Hossa was lifeless and taken off by a stretcher (Heard he is fine and at home recovering! Thank you Hockey Gods!). Or how about the hit on Nathan Horton last year? Do y’all remember that one? I couldn’t get his face OUT of my head.

The Penguins need to play like tonight is Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Finals. There’s no room for error– THAT INCLUDES THESE STUPID PENALTIES!!!! With Neal, Asham and Adams suspended I will admit, the chances of a win is slim. But maybe they just needed to hit rock bottom– I can’t imagine them going anywhere but up.

While struggling through work today I put on my EPIC playlist and This Means War by Nickelback came on. Say what you will about the band (because it seems like everyone and their mother has a problem with them — EXCEPT S & I) but this song just seems to sum up tonight’s game. Or series, for that matter.

Penguins fans! Let’s rally. These boys need us.

I got you, Captain!

Don’t lose hope just yet. There’s still at least 60 minutes of play left in this season. Look at how many people predicted Penguins in 7! Maybe this is just all part of the master evil plan the Hockey Gods put in place.

I just can’t see it ending this way. Not with a sweep. So dig down deep. Muster up ALL the power you can and send our boys all the good vibes you can. You can do this, boys. Screw “Game 4”. It’s a “Game 7” to me.

Go ahead, give this a listen. Get amped!

-L

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

