Let #SobFest2012 Commence

24 04 2012

I should have seen this coming.  After all, the Blackhawks are a Chicago sports team.  And what do Chicago sports teams know how to do?  Disappoint you.

We’ll always have 1908….right?

The problem with Chicago sports fans is this:  we’re eternally positive thinkers.  Every year is “our year”.  And if that were true, then the Cubs, White Sox, Bulls, Blackhawks, and Bears would be the greatest franchises in sports because we continually keep the faith.  But back to the hockey.

It’s not like the Blackhawks played terribly, they’re obviously a talented team.  But the Phoenix Coyotes were simply better in one very important area:  goaltending.  I have to give credit where credit is due.  Mike Smith is one hell of a goaltender and was a true brick wall for the Coyotes.  Though some may criticize Joel Quenneville for not replacing Crawford with Ray Emery when things went sour, I trust his judgement.  Crawford was the smarter choice and more consistent one for the team right now.  He didn’t have the wonderful season that was last year, but he’s still young and will hopefully continue to grow and mature as a player.

I don’t want to think about the shakeup the Blackhawks might get, either in the front office or the team’s core because I love the team the way it is.  But, then again, I have to think of hockey as a business and come to terms with it.  But I don’t want to.  Somebody hold me :(

Wait. Now I feel better.

On the other hand, a big congratulations to Shane Doan and the rest of the Phoenix Coyotes.  You have to give props to a guy like Doan who has spent his entire career in a completely unconventional hockey market, to say the least, and has stuck by the team and the organization throughout.

Now if only Italy had Ben and Jerry’s….but I’ll have to settle for some cheesecake gelato to drown my sorrows.

-M

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 04 2012
L

Oh good. So we’re all heartbroken now!
Pens.
Hawks.
This season S.U.C.K.S.
Is it October yet?

24 04 2012
M

On the serious. I would say now I can focus on baseball, but we all know how well the Cubs play every year…#crap

24 04 2012
L

Speaking of baseball — I got invited to a Sox game next Tuesday and it was the first time I didn’t have to think about a possible game I’d be missing. #BrightSide

Leave a Reply

